Science & Research Forum – Water Dialogues for Results I Towards Bonn 2021

18/05/2021

On 18 May 2021, the “Science & Research Forum – Water Dialogues For Results I Towards Bonn 2021” took place as an online event, which was supported by inputs from GRoW scientists. The participants discussed the role of science and innovation in accelerating SDG 6 implementation with leading experts in the water sector.

The Science & Research Forum was part of the joint efforts of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU), the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and UNESCO to ensure science and innovation contribute to accelerating SDG 6 implementation – with a special emphasis on the application of science at the local level.

The event showcased latest scientific understanding and identified further needs. It provided space to discuss the role of science in influencing decision-making and accelerating cross-sectoral SDG 6 implementation, also in view of the UN SDG 6 Global Acceleration Framework’s Capacity Development Initiative coordinated by the UNESCO Water Family and UN DESA. The outcomes of the forum will serve as an input for the political messages to be presented during the High-Level Conference, which is scheduled for 1 July in preparation of the Mid-Term Review of the UN Water Action Decade.

The Science & Research Forum took place on 18 May 2021, 11:00 – 12:30 (CEST). More information on the event is available here, including a programme flyer.

Science & Research Forum – Water Dialogues for Results I Towards Bonn 2021

18.05.2021

Am 18. Mai 2021 fand das „Science & Research Forum – Water Dialogues For Results I Towards Bonn 2021“ als Online-Event statt, mit Beiträgen von GRoW-Wissenschaftler*innen. Die Teilnehmenden diskutierten mit führenden Expert*innen aus dem Wassersektor über die Rolle von Wissenschaft und Innovation bei der Umsetzung von SDG 6.

Das Science & Research Forum war Teil einer gemeinsamen Initiative des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU), des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und der UNESCO, um durch die Integration von Wissenschaft und Innovation einen Beitrag zur Erreichung von SDG 6 zu leisten – ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf einer lokal anwendungsorientierten Wissenschaft.

Die Veranstaltung hat neuste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse präsentiert und weiteren (Forschungs-)bedarf identifiziert. Zudem gab es Raum, um die Rolle der Wissenschaft in Entscheidungsprozessen rund um die sektorübergreifende Umsetzung von SDG 6 zu diskutieren, auch im Hinblick auf die von der UNESCO Water Family und UN DESA koordinierte Capacity Development Initiative des „UN SDG 6 Global Acceleration Framework“. Die Ergebnisse des Forums werden als Input für die politischen Botschaften dienen, die während der High-Level-Konferenz präsentiert werden, die am 1. Juli in Vorbereitung auf die Mid-Term Review der UN Water Action Decade stattfinden wird.

Das Science & Research Forum fand am 18. Mai 2021, 11:00 - 12:30 Uhr (CEST) statt. Weitere Informationen inklusive eines Programmflyers finden Sie hier.