Paragraphs
Image (half)
Nil
Kicker (colored, optional)
SPS-Blue Nile
Headline (optional)
Development and transfer of a Seamless Prediction System for decision support in transboundary water management of the Blue Nile
Content

Summary

The goal is to develop a meteorological-hydrological forecasting system for transboundary water management of the Blue Nile River, using a "seamless" approach with intersecting forecast horizons ranging from days to several months (Seamless Prediction). This integrates predictive variables critical to regional water management, such as precipitation, reservoir inflow, sediment input and -transport, and even potential agricultural yield, to enable a comprehensive assessment and the derivation of recommended actions within the Water-Food-Energy nexus for the Blue Nile reservoirs and, in particular, the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD) reservoir.

Special focus of the ensemblebased and thus probabilistic forecasting is on the warning of hydro-meteorological extreme events such as heavy precipitation and floods (forecast horizon of several days) up to droughts and heat periods (forecast horizon of weeks to several months, i.e. Subseasonal to Seasonal - S2S).
For the transfer into practice, the developed approaches will be transferred into cloud-ready modules or microservices, which allows an implementation adapted to local conditions of, e.g., the pure hydrometeorological forecast or the visualization module. The development and implementation of the forecasting system will be carried out in close collaboration with Sudanese and Ethiopian partners from scientific, political and water management sectors. By designing the PhD research and training as a sandwich program, jointly organizing workshops and training courses, and concretely participating in higher-level initiatives and networks, an international technical dialogue between Ethiopian, Sudanese, German and other international water experts will be enabled.

Headline (optional)
Coordination
Contact Items
Headline (optional)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology | Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research
Subline (optional)
Prof. Dr. Harald Kunstmann
Email
harald.kunstmannatkit.edu
Subline (optional)
Partners
Logos
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Universität Potsdam Logo
Ethiopian Institute Water Resources Logo
HRC Sudan Logo
Meteorological Authority Sudan Logo
Ministry of irrigation and water resources Sudan Logo

Paragraphen
Bild (halbe Breite)
Nil
Kicker (in primärer Farbe, optional)
SPS-Blue Nile
Überschrift (optional)
Entwicklung und Übertragung eines nahtlosen Vorhersagesystems zur Entscheidungshilfe bei der grenzüberschreitenden Wasserbewirtschaftung des Blauen Nils
Inhalt

Kurzfassung

Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines meteorologisch-hydrologischen Vorhersagesystems für die grenzüberschreitende Wasserbewirtschaftung des Blauen Nils unter Verwendung eines "nahtlosen" Ansatzes mit sich überschneidenden Vorhersagehorizonten, die von Tagen bis zu mehreren Monaten reichen (Seamless Prediction). Dies integriert Vorhersagevariablen, die für die regionale Wasserbewirtschaftung von entscheidender Bedeutung sind, wie z. B. Niederschlag, Zufluss in die Stauseen, Sedimenteintrag und -transport und sogar potenzielle landwirtschaftliche Erträge, um eine umfassende Bewertung und die Ableitung von Handlungsempfehlungen im Rahmen des Nexus Wasser-Nahrungsmittel-Energie für die Stauseen des Blauen Nils und insbesondere den Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD) zu ermöglichen.

Besonderer Fokus der ensemblebasierten und damit probabilistischen Vorhersage liegt auf der Warnung vor hydro-meteorologischen Extremereignissen wie Starkniederschlägen und Überschwemmungen (Vorhersagehorizont von einigen Tagen) bis hin zu Dürren und Hitzeperioden (Vorhersagehorizont von Wochen bis mehreren Monaten, d.h. Subseasonal to Seasonal - S2S).
Für den Transfer in die Praxis werden die entwickelten Ansätze in Cloud-fähige Module oder Microservices überführt, die eine an die lokalen Gegebenheiten angepasste Implementierung z.B. der reinen hydrometeorologischen Vorhersage oder des Visualisierungsmoduls ermöglichen. Die Entwicklung und Implementierung des Vorhersagesystems wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit sudanesischen und äthiopischen Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Wasserwirtschaft erfolgen. Durch die Gestaltung der Doktorandenforschung und -ausbildung als Sandwich-Programm, die gemeinsame Organisation von Workshops und Trainingskursen sowie die konkrete Beteiligung an übergeordneten Initiativen und Netzwerken wird ein internationaler Fachdialog zwischen äthiopischen, sudanesischen, deutschen und anderen internationalen Wasserexperten ermöglicht.

Überschrift (optional)
Koordination
Kontakt-Elemente
Headline (optional)
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie | Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung
Subline (optional)
Prof. Dr. Harald Kunstmann
Telefonnummer
Email
harald.kunstmannatkit.edu
Untertitel (optional)
Partnerkonsortium
Logos